Are you a resident who recently moved to the Magnolia State? Perhaps, you’re a beginner boater living in the state. This guide on how to register a boat in Mississippi is prepared precisely for folks who need comprehensive information on this topic.
You’ll find all the registration requirements and steps explained here. If you have specific concerns, such as how to register with no papers in Mississippi, rest assured that they’ll be addressed as well.
Table of Contents
- How to Register Your Boat in Mississippi
- What If Your Boat is Homemade or Doesn’t Have a Serial Number
- Do You Need to Title Your Boat
How to Register Your Boat in Mississippi
We’ll first begin with the basic steps. This can be applied if you can fulfill certain requirements and haven’t got any issues with standard MS boat registration.
1. Fill out the application form for boat registration
To begin the registration process, obtain a registration form from the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks (MDWFP). You can download it online from the official site of the said department.
The same form applies to Mississippi boat registration transfer, as highlighted. You will need to submit it along with one of the following documents, which will serve as your proof of purchase:
- Bill of sale (a copy will suffice)
- Sales receipt
- A notarized statement explaining how you acquired ownership of the vessel. If the boat was received as a gift, a notarized and signed statement by two witnesses is required.
2. Give proof of tax payment
Take note that this only applies to people who bought their watercraft outside of Mississippi. You’ll need to prove that you paid the state’s 7% sales tax, which is often separate from the initial purchase amount.
Inquire with the seller or the dealer you bought your new boat from.
3. Have an officer inspect your boat
This inspection is a crucial part of Mississippi registration laws and, thus, the entire registration process as well. An officer will thoroughly check your boat for safety and adherence to regulations.
Once the inspection is complete, the officer will fill out an official inspection form, which you will need to submit along with the application form and any corresponding fees.
4. Submit all necessary papers and pay the required fees
Visit the MDWFP office at 1505 Eastover Drive, Jackson, MS 39211. Address your submission to the Boating Division at the said office.
The required fees are already printed on the registration form. To confirm, these are the latest figures you can expect to pay based on the size of your boat size.
|Less than 16 feet||$10.20|
|16 to 26 feet||$25.20|
|26 to 40 feet||$47.70|
|40 feet or more||$47.70|
Any subsequent registration renewal can be completed online. Here’s the link for it: https://www.ms.gov/mdwfp/boat_registration/
There’s also a good chance that you’ll receive a renewal notice at your registered address. You won’t have to take any further action if that’s the case.
5. Wait for the registration certificate and decals to arrive
Once you’ve submitted your documents and fees, it’s a matter of waiting for the MDWFP to process and complete your registration. The certificate and decals will be mailed to you, typically within two weeks.
If you’re planning to attach your boat’s decals yourself, I highly suggest watching this tutorial on how to install boat lettering and decals using the dry method:
What If Your Boat is Homemade or Doesn’t Have a Serial Number
If your boat is homemade or lacks a serial number, it’s advisable to contact or visit the district office in your area. They’ll help you in registering your boat. Even, if you haven’t got the necessary papers, obtaining them is essential for proper boat registration.
I recommend visiting the MDWFP’s official site for further inquiries. Here’s the link for similar problems that have been answered: https://www.ms.gov/mdwfp/boat_registration/faq_info.aspx
Do You Need to Title Your Boat
You don’t need to acquire a Mississippi boat title, as it’s not mandatory in the state. However, you can choose to have it titled for several advantages, including ease of tracking, ownership verification, theft recovery, or resale value, and not to mention the out-of-state use requirements.
Consider the benefits of boat titling and decide whether it aligns with your needs and preferences as a boat owner in the Mississippi State.
Now that you know how to register a boat in Mississippi, do you agree that it’s a pretty hassle-free and straightforward process? It’s certainly easier than most states, and they also take the time to have the boat inspected by an actual officer.
If you have further questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to contact the Boating Division staff in the MDWFP or your local district office. Once you get your boat added to the list, I wish you happy boating in the Hospitality State!
“My intention from the first day establishing Boating Basics Online is to provide as much help as possible for boaters who want to experience a first safe and convenient trip. So feel free to join us and share your beautiful journeys to the sea!”